Target the problem

 Oh, Target.  The “upscale Walmart.” 

Usually, I don’t mind going to Target.  They do run some good deals from time to time and it’s a nice change of pace from the stores I frequent.  The only cons are that it’s out of my way, the clothing is mediocre at best (though that can really be said about any superstore), and that annoying little red bulls-eye is plastered everywhere you look.  (I haven’t ever been in the bathrooms, but I’m pretty sure they’ve got little red bulls-eyes on each and every sheet of toilet paper too.) 

And their customer service?  Um…well….

Maybe yesterday was just not my day to coupon. 

I had to run out last night for a poncho, as my son has a field trip today and due to the weather forecast, the teacher requested rain gear be worn.  So off to Target we went.

I had some coupons for Rimmel products I’ve been wanting to try and, even though they weren’t on sale, I was in dire need of makeup and not inclined to put my purchase off.  But, I probably should have.

I kid you not, it took 10 minutes and two cashiers to figure out the fine print on the three nearly identical coupons, which all stated:

Consumer: Only one coupon is redeemable per purchase and only on specified products and sizes. 

The cashier first informed me that she could only take one coupon – apparently she thought “purchase” meant “entire frickin’ transaction.”  Then, after I politely pointed out that I had three purchases, she called someone over because she didn’t understand what “specified products and sizes” the coupon referred to.  Finally, the second cashier told her just to put them through and they both proceeded to ignore me while I gathered my bag and instead ranted about how much they hated coupons. 

Well…I hate that some people lack reading comprehension.

I suppose I could have sped things up a little and requested a store manager, but even though I was fairly irritated, I was still slightly amused by how the cashier was misconstruing things.  Judging by how many times I see shelves cleared of sale-priced items, you’d think coupons would be run-of-the-mill, just another ho-hum, big deal, staple of the retail world.  Maybe these cashiers were new (not likely).  Maybe she needed to have her eyes checked (quite possible, considering she was holding the coupons only a couple of inches from her face).  Maybe she, like me, was simply having a BDC (Bad Day with Coupons). 

Regardless, the experience kind of reflects badly on Target.  They offer printable store coupons, so one would think they are coupon-friendly, but the lack of training at least two of their cashiers had on standard manufacturer coupons (and the subsequent bitching and moaning at having to handle them) makes me think twice about ever going back on a real honest-to-god couponing expedition.  What would have happened had I stacked store and manufacturer coupons?  Surely, somebody’s head would have exploded.

So Target, this might be a lesson in the importance of making sure that your employees are well-versed in “coupon technology,” because some of us don’t want the process to be any more complicated than it already is.

Leave a Reply

